I will do chin-ups. I will do chin-ups.. I WILL do chin-ups!

Strength training is crucial, I get it.. I was a gymnast until 2012 so I am strong, just not near as strong as I once was. And.. I have NEVER been able to do pull-ups or chin-ups. It baffles everyone.

Last night, I went to the gym with some of my lovely workout buddies. I’m pumped because I brought the AB workout and we were going to get a good run in.

Well, we did those things first.

Started out with this workout called a Peak-8. Do you know what that is? I didn’t – today was my first rodeo:

3:00 Warm up run (6.0 MPH)

1:30 Jog (6.5 MPH)

0:30 HARD (9.5 MPH)

Repeat the 1:30 Jog and 0:30 HARD sections 8 times. Peak-8, get it?

3 minute cooldown (6.0 Pace) = approximately 2 miles / 20 minutes

 

Next, was an awesome abdominal activity that I came up with and it was just perfect!

 

25 Crunchers

1:00 Plank

25 R. Oblique V-Ups

0:45 Plank

25 L. Oblique V-ups

0:30 Plank

50 Toe Touches (25 each side)

0:45 Plank

25 Sit Ups

1:00 Plank

25 Crunchers

 

Then my friend came up with this great idea to make us do 10 chin-ups every time we work out, starting today, because… it’s good for Tough Mudder training? No, I’m certain it’s because she just wants to laugh at my attempts.  But guess what, everyone??! I did TWO! Haha, actually I did ten, but with assistance on all except two. By September, I will master the chin-up!!

picstitch(2)

Those muscles will be rockin’ by September. Just you wait! 🙂

 

I finally finished my workout with 3.01 more treadmill miles in 26:30 (8:48 Pace).

If I can keep up with these kinds of workouts, I’m going to reach all my goal times for sure! 😉picstitch

Off for another 6 miles today. Have a good weekend!

One thought on “I will do chin-ups. I will do chin-ups.. I WILL do chin-ups!

  1. Pingback: Sock Buns and Creepy Man Pants and Faster Times. | Jess on the Run.

Leave a Reply

