8 weeks until Gazelle Girl 1/2 Marathon!

Yup, that’s right. 8 weeks from today. That scares me a little, especially since I have BIG goals. I want to improve my time by nearly 7 minutes from my previous PR, which was over 2 years ago! I feel like I’ve been training so well, but…. what if? How is the training going for your guys’ spring 1/2 marathons? What kind of speed work are you putting in?

Sunday – Rest Day

Monday – 4 easy miles with Megan in 41:00 (10:15 Pace)

Tuesday – 2.01 in 16:11 (8:03 pace), Leg Strength Training

Wednesday – Abs/Arms Strength Training

Thursday – 3.14 in 30:00 (9:33 Pace) Abs/Arms

Friday – Rest Day

Saturday – 10 Miles with Megan in 1:44:50 (10:22 Pace)

IMG_2336 IMG_2380

On Saturday, for the long run, we did the walk/run method that Megan has consistently been using for over a year now. She swears by it and we actually included those walks breaks in the overall time it took, so I definitely believe in it as well. We did 1 mile run / 1 minute walk intervals. It has allowed me to do more miles than I could have without the breaks, and the pace during the run section is faster because I’ve had a small recovery. I didn’t want to do it at first, but I definitely have learned to love and appreciate my one minute walk breaks. I don’t have any intention of walking during the actual half marathon, but many people have done the run/walk and even qualified for Boston doing it. Try it if you’re struggling to up your mileage. A 12 minute miles is just as far as an 8 minute mile! 🙂

Oh yea! Happy Valentine’s Day!!! Hope you guys had a good one. I won the best dressed contest at work! I pretty much killed it. I’m not competitive at all 😉

IMG_2373  IMG_2368

My boyfriend happens to think VDay is a pretty stupid holiday, and therefore doesn’t want to celebrate it. So, instead of a Valentine’s Day card, I got a “Thank You” card. I’ll take what I can get.

IMG_2390

Oh, my gosh! And the bestest part of my week was the photo shoot I got to do (I did mention I dabble in Photography) with my good friend and her little 3 month old.

Layne 3mo 1 Layne 3mo 2

Have a good week. Get your speed on! 🙂

Leave a Reply

