Those Hotel Fitness Centers Aren’t Always The Bomb.

Getting to travel around for work is one of my FAVORITE perks. I have been all over the midwest, just in the last 1.5 years at this job! However, when you’re on your very first week of a training plan (with a BIG goal in mind), it’s really unfortunate when things are not how they seem! 😦

Even with trusted hotel brands, you can sometimes run into snags with the fitness centers. This fitness center looked like it was going to be worth every penny! There were pictures of TV screens on each individual treadmill, tons and tons of weight equipment, bikes, ellipticals, you name it – it was in pictured or mentioned on the hotel website. I was very ready to get this week of training in the books…

After night one, I had one of those rare mornings where I was so thrilled to be up before 6AM to workout! Usually, I think of every excuse in the book to workout AFTER work instead! I get to the fitness center and… only ONE treadmill was functioning (it was being used!), the thermostat was set to 85 degrees and there were several people in there making it even warmer, and then the water cooler must have been broken because there was only hot water to drink!

Due to the time crunch, I could only get a mile in by the time the treadmill was free. However, I can’t feel my arms right now (in a good way), so I did something challenging!

All I could do was laugh. I am here until Sunday so I have already thought up supplemental strength training if the same thing happens to me tomorrow. I was bummed at first to ALREADY have to deviate from my schedule, but THAT’S LIFE. And, that’s okay. Strength is so important when you’re trying to get faster. The ever optimist that I am thinks all the treadmills will be magically fixed tomorrow, anyway 😉

Here is my suggestion for some cardio when your fitness area is not exactly what you expect. NOBODY uses those stairs in lieu of that elevator –so work ‘em! Take 5 or so flights and do: hops (skip one stair), 1 legged hops, sprints, deep squat jumps (down), calf raisers, high knew runs, etc… 3 sets of as many as you can think of is a darn good leg workout. Just plain running stairs is good, too!

How do you “make do” when you’re traveling but need to get a sweat session in?

Leave a Reply

