T’was a Great Week for Running.

I really didn’t think I was going to have awesome training runs this week. Sunday, to start out, was just an easy four. By the second mile, I could tell I was coming down with the flu that had been going around. I was out of commission the rest of Sunday, all day Monday and although I was at work on Tuesday, I definitely was not myself. So, when I got back into a run on Wednesday, I took it easy. It felt surprisingly good and I was back into my training schedule Thursday for speed work. Peak 8, leg day and the Saturday long run never felt so good. The 1:45 for Gazelle Girl is in sight!

10359321_10153692364464896_4345629892955383816_n

Sunday – 4 easy miles (8:49 pace) & Shoulder/Bicep/ Core

Monday & Tuesday – OFF

Wednesday – 3.25 easy miles (9:00 pace) & Chest/ Core

Thursday – Peak-8 Workout (3.12 total miles @ 8:02 pace) & Legs/ Core

Friday – OFF

Saturday – 10 miles (8:46 pace)

Weekly Total: 20.47 miles

If you don’t know what Peak-8 is, it’s one of my FAVORITE speed workouts of all time. This is the way that I do it, but your warm up and cool down can adjust to whatever your preference is:

Warm-up mile (6.7 MPH)

1:30 @ 7.0 MPH

0:30 @ 10.0 MPH

Repeat 8x

Cool down 0.5-1.0 mile (6.5 MPH)

This usually is around 3.5-4.0 miles

On the days I feel really, really great, I add a couple extra 2:00 (1:30 + 0:30) intervals at the end, which makes it Peak-9 or 10. Or, I increase the time from 0:30 to 1:00 for some of the fast run portions.

The only thing I regret from this week is that I haven’t started swimming. We are officially 24 weeks, less than six months, away from IronMan Steelhead 70.3! It was -20 degrees here TWICE this week, so I think you can understand my hesitation with getting into a swimsuit, even at an indoor pool.

FullSizeRender (2)

I’m going to start having a weekly goal and this week’s goal, consistent with the previous comment, is to begin swimming 1-2 times per week.

The running buddy I got to spend today with (she ran for five years in college and my run was basically a walk in the park for her) sent me this, even though I should be sending her such thankful sayings. This is soooo true about running pals. We are always so gracious to each other, even though the other person usually feels the exact same way we do. We hold each other accountable, push the pace when the other is slacking, know how to encourage each other and, YES, we make hours of running seem enjoyable! Have a great, great day all you running buddies!!

11008081_646306458814597_2943941665652210219_n

Does anyone have helpful pool workouts that they’d like to share?

Leave a Reply

